Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science

The 2025 Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science 

Theme: Ecosystem Restoration
Prize: $250,000 USD and a 14-karat gold medal
Deadline for Submissions: March 31, 2024

The Franklin Institute seeks nominations for the 2025 Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science of individuals who have made significant scientific contributions to the development of policies and approaches that promote ecosystem restoration and mitigate ecosystem degradation. The United Nations has declared 2021–2030 to be the UN Decade on Ecosystem Restoration to highlight the critical need to prevent, halt, and reverse the degradation of ecosystems throughout the world as ways to help end poverty, combat climate change, and prevent extinctions. The quality of life on our planet in the 21st century and beyond depends on the successful preservation and restoration of ecosystems.

Nominations should recognize contributions to fundamental or application-oriented science with broad impact and should clearly indicate the scientific significance—innovative, technical, and/or conceptual—and the societal/economic impact of the nominee’s work.

  • This is an international competition for individuals who have made significant contributions in developing scientific approaches and/or policies that have enhanced the implementation of ecosystem restoration.
  • As specified by the will of Henry Bower, this award and prize must be presented to an individual, not to a group.
  • Candidates must be living, and the winner must participate in The Franklin Institute Awards Week programs, to be held in April 2025 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA.
  • Nominations from any individual or organization will be accepted, including self-nominations.
  • Nominations of candidates traditionally underrepresented in science and engineering are particularly encouraged.
Nomination Procedures

An email of intent to nominate would be appreciated by February 29, 2024. 

Nominations must be submitted in English and must include:
  • Name and contact information of nominee 
  • Name and contact information of nominator
  • Proposed award citation of 50 words or fewer, specifying the achievement(s) for which the candidate is nominated
  • Narrative statement describing the nominee’s qualifications for the award, including technical contributions, impact on their field, and broader impact on science and society 
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae and bibliography of significant and relevant publications
  • Four confidential letters of support sent by the letter writers directly to The Franklin Institute Awards Office

Nominations should be emailed to:

Beth Scheraga
Director, The Franklin Institute Awards | 215.448.1329

The Franklin Institute Awards celebrates pioneering achievements in science, engineering, and industry and the brilliant individuals from across the globe who make them. As the oldest science and technology awards program in the U.S., we honor the legacy of our namesake, Benjamin Franklin—America’s first great scientist and an inventor and statesman whose impact can be seen all around us today. Since 1824, we have recognized more than 2,000 world-changing scientists, engineers, inventors, and industrialists—all of whom reflect Franklin’s spirit of curiosity, ingenuity, and innovation. Our roster of past laureates includes Nikola Tesla, Thomas Edison, Marie and Pierre Curie, Albert Einstein, Stephen Hawking, Jane Goodall, Luna Leopold and Reds Wolman, Wallace Broecker, W. Richard Peltier, Dean Kamen, Syukuro Manabe, Mildred Dresselhaus, John Goodenough, Claude Lorius, Frances Arnold, and Philip Kim.

The Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science, along with the Bower Award for Business Leadership, was established in 1990 through a bequest from Philadelphia chemical manufacturer and philanthropist Henry Bower (1896–1988), the grandson of a 19th century Franklin Institute laureate. The award, 14k gold medal, and cash prize of $250,000 are presented annually to a distinguished member of the international scientific community for work in a prescribed discipline that changes each year. In addition to the Bower Awards, The Franklin Institute presents Benjamin Franklin Medals in chemistry, civil and mechanical engineering, computer and cognitive science, earth and environmental science, electrical engineering, life science, and physics; and the Benjamin Franklin NextGen Award, which honors an early-career researcher.